Permanent Building Committee Meeting Minutes of Wednesday, August 25, 2020 Virtual Meeting via Zoom

Call to Order: Wayne Klocko called the meeting to order at 7:04 p.m.

Meeting Attendees:

PBC

Wayne Klocko (Chairman), Diane Jurmain, John Larkin, Richard Nichols, Kimberly Borst (Department Assistant)

Additional Attendees

Douglas Manley – Architect - Spencer, Sullivan and Vogt Joseph Metrano – Architectural Designer, Spencer, Sullivan and Vogt Lynne Spencer – Principal - Spencer, Sullivan and Vogt Robert Weiss – Economic Development Director – Town of Millis

Spencer, Sullivan and Vogt (SSV) outlined the progress they have made on the Lansing Millis Feasibility Study. Most of the front matter is complete along with existing conditions drawings, character-defining features, a regulatory analysis and conceptual designs. Additionally, the history and significance narrative, the executive summary, conditions assessments and preservation guideline are underway.

SSV reviewed the regulatory analysis with the Committee. The Town of Millis Zoning Code designates the property as C-V/ commercial village which would allow schools, elderly housing, live/work (by special permit) but not a single-family residence. Discussion took place regarding pursuing a zoning changes to potentially allow for a single-family residence, but mixed-use was determined as the preferred option.

A landscape plan was discussed which includes a 90-degree curb cut at Exchange Street that will hopefully slow drivers down as they enter the parking lot. There are 13 parking spaces shown on the plans. A question was brought up about the access road that goes behind the church to Curve Street. If it is used, who it belongs to, etc. It was determined to be used mostly by parishioners of the church.

Four building design options were outlined for the Committee.

Option 1 – First floor café of some sort, grab and go would be the best option. Second floor would be an office that does not require regular access by the public. All options involve removal of non-original additions. This option would also include removing the vault.

Option 2 – Office or commercial space on both floors with public access to both floors. The vault could stay or go depending on the cost to remove.

Option 3 – Single family residence. Convert to a 2,300 square foot, 3-bedroom single family home. This would require changing the zoning code.

Permanent Building Committee Meeting Minutes of Wednesday, August 25, 2020 Virtual Meeting via Zoom

Option 4- Live/Work space for an artist or other design professional. Studio on first floor, residence upstairs.

The Committee members and other meeting participants were asked to give their opinion on which options they liked best. Option 2 and Option 4 were the most popular.

Four potential options for ownership and stewardship of the building were discussed.

1 – The Town owns and operates the property.

- 2 The Town enters into a partnership with an organization or business who occupies the building.
- 3 The Town leases the building to an organization, business or tenant.
- 4 The Town sells the property with a Preservation Restriction.

8:17 p.m. – Richard Nichols left the meeting.

The Town would like to save the building and make sure that it remains a landmark while also generating revenue.

Invoices

An invoice for Spencer, Sullivan and Vogt was presented and reviewed by the Committee.

Diane Jurmain made a motion to pay SSV \$4,350.00 for professional services through June 30, 2020. John Larkin seconded the motion. By roll call vote: Diane Jurmain – aye, John Larkin – aye, Wayne Klocko – aye. The motion passed unanimously.

An invoice for Spencer, Sullivan and Vogt was presented and reviewed by the Committee.

Diane Jurmain made a motion to pay SSV \$3,700.00 for professional services through July 31,2020. John Larkin seconded the motion. By roll call vote: Diane Jurmain – aye, John Larkin – aye, Wayne Klocko – aye. The motion passed unanimously.

Adjournment

John Larkin made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:45 p.m. The motion was seconded by Diane Jurmain and passed unanimously.

Submitted by: Kimberly Borst Department Assistant, Permanent Building Committee